The IRF has published the Entry Preface and Criteria for the 12th World Rogaining Championships 2014 South Dakota.
The entries for WRC 2014 will be opening on 1st November 2013. The number of entries for this event will be limited to 1,000 individuals. The event website is:


The entry criteria for this event have been agreed and have been posted on the event website. You can also download a PDF version here.

All Pre-Qualified Entrants (PQEs) need to enter within the initial two-week Phase 1 period if they wish to take advantage of their PQE status. Also, non-PQEs who enter within Phase 1 have preference over anyone who enters after the end of Phase 1.

The timeline for entry processing has been published here:

The 2013 University Rogaining Championship was held in conjunction with the Western Australian Rogaining Championships on the 17-18th August. Clear winners were Thomas Brazier and Sarah Buckerfield of Australian National University in ACT.

Each year The Nigel Aylott Memorial Sports Foundation (NAMSF) supports university students to enter the event. NAMSF was set up in memory of Nigel a keen adventure racer and rogainer, to encourage engagement in these outdoor sports.
Results on the WARA website...

27 Australians competed in the World Championship in Russia held 26-27 July 2013 in the Pskov region, near the Latvian border. The top placed teams overall were from Estonia, Russia and Finland. Leading Australians were Rod Gray (course setter for ARC 2013) and Geoff Lawford retaining the Men Super Veterans title they won in Czech Republic.

Australian medalists were:
  • Rod Gray, Geoff Lawford, 1st Men Super Veterans
  • Tamsin Barnes, Thor Egerton, 2nd Women Veterans
  • Tim Dent, Graham Anderson, 2nd Men Ultra Veterans
  • Robyn Spriggs, with Sharon Crawford (USA), 2nd Women Ultra Veterans
  • Paul Williams, Mark Imbert, 3rd Men Veterans

Australia has been awarded the World Rogaining Championship in 2016, to be held on 23/24 July near Alice Springs.

Terrain promises to be typical Australian: semi-arid, rocky and technical, with complex gully systems. Australia's leading course setters and administrators will join forces to conduct a truly world class event.

The previous World Championship in Australia was the Warrumbungles, NSW in 2006; the last time the World Championship came to the southern hemisphere was New Zealand in 2010.

Read the ARA's proposal here... (3.6MB).